Navigate Up
Sign In
Dual Credit Options
Dual credit study offers high school students an opportunity to earn college credit while fulfilling high school requirements. Brazosport College offers students several choices for completing dual credit study in mathematics.
 
Why Take College Level Math in High School?
 
  1. Numerous national studies have shown that the sooner a student completes their math requirement in college, the more likely they are to complete a bachelor’s degree.
  2.  
  3. Students who complete a college level mathematics course while in high school will NEVER have to take a developmental math course in college. This is significant because over two thirds of college students nationwide require at least one semester of developmental mathematics.

  4. If you are planning to major in something that only requires a core curriculum mathematics course (i.e. Sociology, History, etc), you’ll be done with your math requirement BEFORE you ever go to college.

  5. If you are planning to major in something that may require numerous math courses (i.e. Engineering, Physics, etc), you will already be two courses ahead on that road.
What Are My Course Options?
 
Typically, all dual credit math students take Math 1314, College Algebra during the fall semester of either their junior or senior year. For the spring semester, there are several options, including:
 
Math 1316: Trigonometry (For plans in science, engineering, etc)

Math 1324: Math for Business/Economics I (For plans in business, finance, etc)

Math 1342: Statistics: (For plans in social sciences, political science, etc)

Math 1350: Fundamentals of Math I (For plans in education)

Options and requirements vary by high school, so we recommend that you work with your dual credit counselor to determine the best choice.
 
Who Should I Contact?
 
The Dual Credit at BC website has a wealth of information available, including contact information. This site also contains information about tuition, enrollment procedures, and other dual credit classes offered.
 
 


 

 Contact Us

 
Jeff Detrick
Division Chair
Office: HS-225L
Phone: (979) 230-3383
Jeff.Detrick@brazosport.edu
 
Debbie Duncan
Office Professional
Office: HS-225K
Phone: (979) 230-3225
debbie.duncan@brazosport.edu
 
Calin Agut
Office: J-226
Phone: (979) 230-3274
Calin.Agut@brazosport.edu
 
Ioana Agut
Office: J-227
Phone: (979) 230-3386
Ioana.Agut@brazosport.edu
 
Cristina Bacica
Office: G-217
Phone: (979) 230-3537
Cristina.Bacica@brazosport.edu
 
Cheryl Cooley
Office: G-218
Phone: (979) 230-3391
Cheryl.Cooley@brazosport.edu
 
John Cooper
Office: HS-212J
Phone: (979) 230-3336
John.Cooper@brazosport.edu
 
Kevin O'Neill
Office: B-201
Phone: (979) 230-3620
Kevin.ONeill@brazosport.edu
 
Ta-Keng Teng
Office: J-224
(979) 230-3349
TK.Teng@brazosport.edu
 
 
Harvey Yarborough
Office: B-203
Phone: (979) 230-3319
Harvey.Yarborough@brazosport.edu

© 2013 Brazosport College | 500 College Drive | Lake Jackson, TX 77566 | (979) 230-3000 | Email login | ASTRA | BC Emergency Info | F.A.S. | Institutional Profile | Login