Navigate Up
Sign In
Remembering Skills From The Past

    Your instructor will often assume that you remember skills from prerequisite coursework. For example, if you are taking Math 1314, College Algebra, we expect that you know the material taught in Math 0408, Intermediate Algebra.

    But let’s get real for a moment. We all know that the human brain leaks a little from time to time and your memory may not be as sharp as you would like. It’s not that you have forgotten everything, but you’ll need to clean the rust and cobwebs off material you learned in the past. The following resources will help!
     
    • Brazosport College Algebra Learning Modules: These modules address all the major foundational skills taught in Prealgebra, Beginning Algebra, and Intermediate Algebra. Each module, organized by course and topic, contains a short video and a handful of practice problems (solutions included). You are welcome to discuss your work with any BC tutor or faculty member.
     
  • Khan Academy: The Khan Academy is an online resource created with funding from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation for Education. It is a huge library of video instruction from a variety of disciplines. In addition to reviewing prerequisite skills, these videos may also help you in the course you are currently taking. Click on the links below to view available videos:

  •  
  • Mathematics Faculty: Each faculty member in the math department has an office equipped with a door for you to knock on! We are happy to meet with you and help you with whatever you might be struggling with. Don't be bashful. Our contact information is to the right.


 

 Contact Us

 
Jeff Detrick
Division Chair
Office: HS-225L
Phone: (979) 230-3383
Jeff.Detrick@brazosport.edu
 
Debbie Duncan
Office Professional
Office: HS-225K
Phone: (979) 230-3225
debbie.duncan@brazosport.edu
 
Calin Agut
Office: J-226
Phone: (979) 230-3274
Calin.Agut@brazosport.edu
 
Ioana Agut
Office: J-227
Phone: (979) 230-3386
Ioana.Agut@brazosport.edu
 
Cristina Bacica
Office: G-217
Phone: (979) 230-3537
Cristina.Bacica@brazosport.edu
 
Cheryl Cooley
Office: G-218
Phone: (979) 230-3391
Cheryl.Cooley@brazosport.edu
 
John Cooper
Office: HS-212J
Phone: (979) 230-3336
John.Cooper@brazosport.edu
 
Kevin O'Neill
Office: B-201
Phone: (979) 230-3620
Kevin.ONeill@brazosport.edu
 
Ta-Keng Teng
Office: J-224
(979) 230-3349
TK.Teng@brazosport.edu
 
 
Harvey Yarborough
Office: B-203
Phone: (979) 230-3319
Harvey.Yarborough@brazosport.edu

© 2014 Brazosport College | 500 College Drive | Lake Jackson, TX 77566 | (979) 230-3000 | Webmail | ASTRA | Emergency Info | F.A.S. | Institutional Profile | Equal Opportunity | Login